The Flashlight EP

The upcoming EP from New York City based emo band Fake Pollocks titled The Flashlight EP is released on March 31, 2023. The EP is the band's second release, after last fall the band delivered us two debut tracks, Arm & Argument. Fake Pollocks is the collaboration of philanthropist Nathan Sherman (Floral, Graveborn) and common dish-monkey Ty Mayer (JLS Middle School 6th Grade Band). According to the band members, The Flashlight EP is comprised of four songs selected from their catalog that were written and recorded over the last four years. The songs were written and recorded on their computer. The EP combines elements of angular and chaotic indie / math/ emo rock, with both spoken word, singing and shouty moments. It's chaotic yet melodic with hooks to go along with it, and contains those classic noodling guitars and varied dynamics throughout the songs. The intricate guitar work and rhythmic changes make the songs both interesting and catchy all at once, and hearken back to some of the classic sounds of mid/late 90s more technical sounding mathy/emo/indie rock. At the same time, the new songs have just as much in common with the more recent 5th wave emo/punk revival sound too, bridging the gap nicely between the old and the new.