Nothing In The Dark

Mercy Music
FeaturedNothing In The Dark

September 18th, 2020


Las Vegas, NV punk/pop-punk trio Mercy Music have announced their forthcoming new album titled 'Nothing In The Dark' out this September via Wiretap Records (US) and SBAM Records (EU).

For Mercy Music’s third full-length album, 'Nothing in the Dark,' the band (Scholz, bassist Jarred Cooper, and drummer Rye Martin) found an understanding ear with Alkaline Trio/Motörhead producer Cameron Webb, and were finally able to make an album that focuses the band’s many strengths down to a smoldering point.

“There’s literally no bullshit in there. We were (in the studio) for five days and we got everything done,” Scholz says. “It’s probably the record we’re most proud of, ‘cause it’s done the way we wanted to do it, and it’s the most cohesive, sound-wise.”

In addition to enlisting a producer who has plenty of experience honing the sound of both poppy and pummeling power trios, Scholz said the album also finds cohesion in subject matter. “2019 was a rocky year, and the record sums it up,” he says. All 10 songs address personal matters Scholz simply refers to as “adulthood.” 

The two singles "Living With A Ghost" and "Tuesday" from the forthcoming LP can both be streamed below.